The NYC CBT Leadership Team

Nathan C. Thoma PhD

Nathan C. Thoma PhD


  • Clinical Assistant Professor of Psychology in Psychiatry - Weill Cornell Medical College

  • Diplomate of the Academy of Cognitive Therapy

  • Certified Advanced Schema Therapist

  • Website:


A message from NYC CBT President Nathan Thoma

I have enjoyed being a member of NYC-CBT for the past seven years and I am proud to now serve as the organization’s president. Cognitive Behavioral Therapy (CBT) has attracted me since early in my clinical training due to its active focus on relieving client suffering, its firm foundation in learning principles, and its aim of providing patients with powerful corrective emotional experiences. Furthermore CBT practitioners have embraced empiricism as a core value. The CBT community has engaged in the use of science for the past fifty-plus years to demonstrate efficacy as well as discover new clinical methods that work best. In recent years, the CBT framework has come to integrate a variety of approaches including traditional Cognitive Therapy and Exposure Therapy, more recent variations such as Schema Therapy, as well as “Third Wave” mindfulness and acceptance-based therapies such as Dialectical Behavior Therapy (DBT), Acceptance and Commitment Therapy (ACT), and Compassion-Focused Therapy (CFT). As president of NYC-CBT I want to welcome practitioners who desire to practice evidence-based psychotherapy and in particular find themselves interested in any or all of the current forms of CBT.


Jamie Schumpf PsyD

Jamie Schumpf PsyD

President Elect

  • Clinical Associate Professor of Psychology & Assistant Director of Clinical Training - Yeshiva University Ferkauf Graduate School of Psychology

  • Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor of Psychology in Psychiatry, Weill Cornell Medical College

  • Website:


Bruce Hubbard PhD

Bruce Hubbard PhD

Past President

  • Director - Cognitive Health Group

  • Founder, CBT for Tinnitus, LLC

  • Visiting Scholar- Columbia University Teacher's College

  • Associate Clinical Professor, Icahn School of Medicine, Mt Sinai Hospital

  • Certified in Cognitive and Behavioral Psychology

  • Websites:



Serving as NYC CBT president has been one of the greatest honors of my career! Over my term I have watched our organization grow in many ways. We have added members, we are sponsoring our first full-day workshop, and our newsletter—NYC-CBT News & Updates—now goes out to over a thousand readers. I look forward to continuing to serve in the role of Past-President, and under the capable leadership of our new President, Nathan Thoma, I am confident that NYC-CBT will continue to thrive!


Robert Leahy PhD

Robert Leahy PhD

Honorary Lifetime President

  • Distinguished Founding Fellow - Academy of Cognitive Therapy

  • Recipient of Aaron T Beck Award

  • Clinical Professor of Psychology in Psychiatry - Weill Cornell Medical College

  • Website:

Anna Edwards PhD

Anna Edwards PhD

Executive Secretary

  • Clinical Assistant Professor of Psychology in Psychiatry - Weill Cornell Medical College

  • Director, New York Anxiety Treatment Center

  • Website:


Lindsay G. Tulchin PhD

Lindsay G. Tulchin PhD

Representative at Large

  • Clinical Assistant Professor of Psychology in Psychiatry, Weill Cornell Medical College

  • Adjunct Clinical Supervisor, Ferkauf Graduate School of Psychology

  • Certified Diplomate, Academy of Cognitive Therapy

  • Website:


Adam S. Weissman PhD

Adam S. Weissman PhD

Representative at Large 

  • Director & Founder, The Child & Family Institute

  • Visiting Scholar, Columbia University-Teacher's College

  • President, ABCT Child & Adolescent Anxiety SIG

  • President, Westchester County Psychological Association, Clinical Division

  • Council Rep (Westchester), NY State Psychological Association

  • Website:


Ruth Lippin, LSCW, JD

Ruth Lippin, LCSW, JD


  • Private Practice, Upper West Side, NY, NY

  • Co-Chair, ADAA Child & Adolescent SIG

  • Recipient, ADAA Clinician Outreach Award

  • IOCDF Pediatric BTTI certified therapist

  • Website:




Lindsay G. Tulchin -

Rachel Hutt

Brittney Silvestri



Bruce Hubbard -

Kim Grocher

Rachel Freed

Tara Deliberto


Adam Weissman -

Melissa Braunstein

Graham Reynolds

Nicholas Forand




Nathan C. Thoma -

Sara Honickman

List of Founding members

Anne Marie Albano, PhD

Doris Chang, PhD

Suzanne Davino, PhD

Susan Evans, PhD

Baruch Fishman, PhD

Jonathan Kaplan, PhD

Robert Leahy, PhD

Lata McGinn, PhD

Deborah Melamed, PhD

Alec Miller, PhD


Katherine Muller, PsyD

Lisa Napolitano, PhD

Simon Rego, PsyD

Laura Reigada, PhD

Shireen Rizvi, PhD


Robert Schachter, EdD

Dennis Tirch, PhD

Deborah Walder, PhD

Rene Zweig, PhD